关于我们

你好!我们是米兰达和乔什,手部治疗学院背后的团队。

我们是在美国西南部最大的一家手外科医生诊所工作时认识的。在那次实践中,我们学会了如何高效地制定护理计划,同时不牺牲患者的护理质量。我们从实践中的医生以及当我们刚进入该领域时为我们提供帮助的治疗师那里学到了很多东西。

手部治疗学院是我们回馈社会的一个机会。

我们将定期上传内容并计划涵盖许多主题。如果您有具体的事情希望我们提供,请跳到我们的 联系页面 并让我们知道。我们很想听到您的声音!

Josh MacDonald Miranda Materi
观看我们的介绍视频

Arrow

您对我们的期望

精彩的培训视频

患者讲义 PDF

协议说明

关于“手部疗法”阳光下一切的博客

有机会与志同道合的治疗师社区互动

分步指南

很多有趣的治疗想法

以及我们能想到的任何其他东西可以与手部治疗世界分享!

注册即可直接将更新发送到您的收件箱!

注册我们,我们将定期向您发送有关手部治疗的所有内容的博客文章、每次上传新视频和教程时的通知,以及讲义、协议和其他有用信息。

认识团队

josh macdonald

乔什·麦克唐纳 (Josh MacDonald),OTR-L,MS,CHT

职业治疗大师、认证手部治疗师

我自 2001 年起成为一名 OT,在儿科工作了 13 年。 Peds 是我最初的热情所在,我仍然喜欢花时间与孩子们在一起并帮助那些残疾人。当需要改变时,我回到了我的二级旋转根源并回到了我的第二个爱好:手部治疗。

在妻子和孩子的支持下,我开始在 Mayo Clinic 和一个拥有 10 名外科医生的手外科诊所工作。在与创伤患者和矫形器制造进行了大量练习后,我继续参加并通过了 CHT 考试。从那时起,我就在凤凰城地区的西谷开始了自己的实践。

我真的很喜欢夹板的机械和艺术方面,以及我们与患者互动和影响患者生活的亲密方式。我已经能够将我对治疗的热爱融合在一起,并且我看到了相当多的儿科手部治疗患者。无论是与孩子还是成人,我都喜欢与手有关的一切,并且迫不及待地想与您分享这种热情。

miranda materi

米兰达·马特里,OTD,CHT

职业治疗博士,认证手部治疗师

2006 年,我在克赖顿大学获得了职业治疗专业临床博士学位。经过五年的手部治疗实践,我成为了一名经过认证的手部治疗师。我对临床环境的研究和开发有浓厚的兴趣,并参与了许多研究。米兰达的其他专业兴趣包括基于社区的职业治疗和社区预防计划,包括跌倒预防。米兰达曾担任梅奥诊所的兼职教员,目前是北亚利桑那大学的兼职教员。

我喜欢帮助患者进行各种诊断,包括屈肌腱撕裂、再植、神经移植、臂丛神经病、带或不带假肢的截肢、各种骨折、骨关节炎以及针对各种情况的矫形器制造。米兰达还获得了肌电假肢训练认证,并与所有类型的上肢截肢者一起工作。

我喜欢手部治疗,因为它总是充满挑战,总是有更多东西需要学习!

About Us

Hi! We’re Miranda and Josh, the team behind Hand Therapy Academy.

We met when we worked in a high volume hand surgeon’s practice, the largest in the Southwest United States. During our time at that practice, we learned to be efficient with our plan of care while not sacrificing quality of care for the patient. We learned so much from the doctors in that practice and from the therapists that helped us when we were new to the field.

Hand Therapy Academy is a chance for us to pay it back to the community.

We will be uploading content regularly and plan to cover lots of topics. If you have something specific you want us to cover hop on over to our contact page and let us know. We would love to hear from you!

Arrow

What You Can Expect From Us

Exciting training videos

Patient handout PDFs

Protocol descriptions

Blogs on everything under the ‘Hand Therapy’ sun

A chance to interact with a community of like-minded therapists

Step-by-step guides

Lots of fun treatment ideas

And anything else we can think of to share with the Hand Therapy world!

Envelope_1

Sign-up to Get Updates Straight to Your Inbox!

Sign up with us and we will send you regular blog posts on everything hand therapy, notices every time we upload new videos and tutorials, along with handout, protocols, and other useful information.

Meet the Team

josh macdonald

Josh MacDonald, OTR-L, MS, CHT

Masters of Occupational Therapy, Certified Hand Therapist

I have been an OT since 2001 and worked in pediatrics for 13 years. Peds was my original passion and I still love getting to spend time with kids and helping those with disabilities. When it was time for a change, I went back to my Level 2 rotation roots and returned to my second love: hand therapy.

With the support of my wife and kids, I started working at Mayo Clinic and a 10-surgeon hand surgery practice. After getting tons of practice with trauma patients and orthosis fabrication I went on to pursue, and pass, the CHT exam. I’ve since started my own practice in the West Valley of the Phoenix area.

I truly love the mechanics and artistic side of splinting and the intimate way we get to interact and impact the lives of our patients. I have been able to blend my to therapy loves together and I get to see a pretty good amount of pediatric hand therapy patients. Whether it’s with kids or adults, I love everything about hands and can’t wait to share that passion with you.

miranda materi

Miranda Materi, OTD, CHT

Doctorate of Occupational Therapy, Certified Hand Therapist

I received my professional clinical doctorate in occupational therapy from Creighton University in 2006. After practicing hand therapy for five years, I became a certified hand therapist. I have strong interest in research and development in clinical settings and has participated in many studies. Miranda's other professional interests include community-based occupational therapy and community prevention programs including fall prevention. Miranda has served as an adjunct faculty member at the Mayo Clinic and currently is an adjunct faculty member at Northern Arizona University.

I enjoy helping patients with a variety of diagnoses, including flexor tendon lacerations, replantations, nerve transfers, brachial plexopathies, amputation with and without prosthetics, various fractures, osteoarthritis, as well as orthotic fabrication for various conditions. Miranda is also certified in myoelectric prosthetic training and has worked with all types of upper extremity amputees.

I love hand therapy because is is always challenging there is always more to to learn!